Recycled Plastic Bag Purse Workshop!

Plastic Bag Purses 1

Hmmm, I spy with my little eye…an Old Navy bag, some bubble wrap, a package of Mini Chefs Pink Lady Apples, and a mesh plastic onion sack. You?

Plastic Bag Purses 2

Despite a growing increase in the proliferation of reusable bags I’m sure most of us still have a pile of plastic ones stashed away in a drawer or closet.  I’m becoming quite adept at saying “No thanks, I don’t need a bag”…yet I occasionally find that one slips through my anti-bag defenses.   That’s why I was so thrilled when Kara offered to teach a workshop on how to turn these bags into fun pouches, purses or mini-bags.   Made in Windsor will provide the sewing machines, ironing equipment, even the zippers…all you have to supply is a pile of bags.  The more the better!  And if you’re having trouble rustling some up, we’ll have some extras on hand.  Keep in mind that thicker bags apparently work best for this project.

Kara tells me that since we’re just heating the plastic and not actually burning or melting it, we shouldn’t have to worry much about toxic fumes.  To be on the safe side, we’ll do the ironing in a well-ventilated area (ie. near an open door or even outside).   Here are the details:

Thursday, August 27th

7-9pm

$20

To register drop by the store or call 519-973-0776.

5 Responses to “Recycled Plastic Bag Purse Workshop!”

  1. Kara Calis Says:

    This is going to be a fun class. Here are some suggestions of bags you may not of thought of, that end up in the garbage.
    *Bread bags
    *Bubble Wrap (one of my favorites)
    *Avacado Netting
    *Toilet paper/Paper towel bags
    *Milk bags
    So start collecting, and we’ll have fun at the class!!!

  2. Samantha Says:

    Why are your workshops so expensive? (I heard the crochet classes are $20 each time too?) Would one get a discount if they brought their own zippers to this one (they’d already be bringing their own bags..)?

    I would have liked to attend this workshop, but there’s no way i’m paying so much money for something I can learn on the internet.

    Are all of Made In Windsor’s workshops going to be $20?

    • madeinwindsor Says:

      We’re still trying to figure out the appropriate fees since we’re very new at this so your feedback is much appreciated. The beginner’s crochet workshop that we did tonight WAS $20 but that included a 2 hour workshop with detailed handouts plus a big ball of yarn and a crochet hook…all for the person to take home and keep. I feel that is a fair price. I have to pay the instructors to teach the workshop plus pay for the supplies…and of course a bit of money has to go towards the store or I won’t be able to keep this place open! As another example, we’ll be doing a 3-wk class on crocheting a specific project (a scarf with flower on each end). This one will cost $40 which covers a series of three 2-hour workshops with a detailed pattern and notes. Plus we usually throw in some tea and snacks during the program in case anyone gets hungry! As for the recycled plastic bag workshop, perhaps $20 is a bit too pricey. Our thinking was a 2-hour workshop where someone walked away with both a skill and an end product was probably worth $20 but maybe we were wrong. I think we will drop the fee for that one to $15 and see what happens. For those who’ve already paid for the class we’ll be offering a $5 refund. See we at MIW DO listen! Thanks, Samantha, for your feedback.
      Christine

      • Samantha Says:

        Thanks for your reply : ) I was talking to a few people after commenting, and they said the prices seemed fair. Maybe I am just cheap/poor, lol.

        I hope I didn’t sound angry in my comment. It just seems like every workshop in this city is crazy expensive and that deters me from going to them. I’m sorry if I kind of took that out on your shop. I really like what you’ve got going on there (I haven’t been yet, but I’ve been following the progress online). It really seems like something special : )

        I hope I can go to some workshops in the future. They look really fun!

      • madeinwindsor Says:

        Thanks, Samantha! I’m sure you’re not the only one who’s broke in this city (myself included!) and that’s certainly something we have to keep in mind when pricing classes. I really do appreciate your comments. It’s tough to balance offering something affordable with also trying bring in enough money to keep the store running. I wish that sales were enough to cover all of our monthly expenses but since they’re not, the little bit that we make from the workshops helps with the bottom line. Anyway, if you haven’t been in yet I hope you drop in soon!

Leave a Reply

